I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE our van!

We took a brave decision a while ago to buy a 23 year old Mercedes Campervan. It was taking a big step into the unknown for us as it towered above our previous VW van and definitely isn’t as sexy. It’s also a bit tatty and very rusty in places. We didn’t even know if it would get through it’s next MOT or whether we’d be left with a huge rusting mountain of metal in the garden which we’d have to turn into the kids den. However, so far it’s turned into the wonderful retreat I hoped it would and even took us to France and back without so much as a hiccup.  I love to drive it because everyone shows me so much more respect than when I’m in the car.  I even get waved at regularly from strangers and other campervan owners. It’s also become my office, where I can get away from the madness of the house and family, and change my view as much as I want and in whatever way I want just to be inspired. It also makes you slow down and chill out a bit to match it’s ageing acceleration, and in the summer it becomes the base for family and friends when we pitch up at the beach. It just keeps giving.

It’s the kind of van that would have been a best buy in it’s day. I can even imagine the type of person who would have bought it new all those years ago (imagine Margo and Jerry from The Good Life with a stocked drinks cabinet and you’re there too!)  With this in mind you might think you wouldn’t be seen dead in such a vehicle… especially if you’re a lover of VW’s… but maybe you should think again. It’s so retro it hurts and having a young family, and many friends with the same, it fits around our lifestyle so well we keep getting offers from others wanting to take it off our hands. I think we might have started something here!  The kids call it the Ninky Nonk and if you see us trundling along near the beach in our battered old van, make sure you give us a wave.

About Sarah

I am a trend hunter, inspiration finder and creator, searching the cool camping, glamping and travel markets for the best products, information, gadgets and accessories, so you don't have to.
This entry was posted in Beach Vans. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

